Snapchat is a social media app that allows users to share photos and videos with their friends. It is one of the most popular apps in the world, and more than 150 million people use it every day! One of the great things about Snapchat is that you can control who sees your content. You can choose to send a photo or video to all of your friends, just a few friends, or even specific individuals. If someone is bothering you or spamming you on Snapchat, you can block them. In this blog post, we will tell you everything you need to know about blocking someone on Snapchat!
What Happens When You Block Someone on Snapchat?
When you block someone on Snapchat, they will no longer be able to see your stories or send you snaps. They will also not be able to see your profile or add you as a friend. If you try to view their profile, you will get a message that says, “This person is not available”. If you have blocked someone and they try to contact you, they will not know that they have been blocked.
Here are the details of what will happen when you block someone on Snapchat –
You will stop receiving snaps from them
When you block a person, they will not know that you have blocked them. They will be able to keep sending you messages, but you will not receive them. The message will be shown as unread on the sender’s profile, but you will not receive any notification on your profile. Even a snap sent to you by the person will show up as delivered for the sender but will not be received by you!
They can view your snaps
When you block a profile on Snapchat, they can view your snaps, while you will not be able to view theirs. That should perhaps be a little annoying, as when you block someone, you do not want them to be able to view what you post. This is something we experience on Facebook.
They will not be able to add you back
They will not know that you have blocked them. You will still be on their friend’s list, and they will be able to have access to your profile on Snapchat. Even when you decide to unblock them, they will not be able to add you back, as they already have you on their friends’ list. If you want them to be back on your friends list, you need to unblock them and send them a friend request.
The blocked person will be removed from your friends’ list
As soon as you block a person, he or she will be removed from your friends’ list. All the interactions you had with them will be brought back to zero. They will also be instantly removed from your best friends list. Even when you re-establish the friendship at a later stage, the interaction will have to begin afresh. You will never be able to retrieve the previous chats and other interactions.
Chats will be deleted for you but will remain for them
When you block a person from Snapchat, they will be completely removed from your account. All the chats that you had together will instantly disappear. No trace of the person will be left on your account. However, it should be noted that the blocked person will continue to have all your chats and all traces of the previous interaction.
Will They Know If You Block Someone on Snapchat?
The person you have blocked will not be notified that you have blocked them. They will only figure it out when they try to interact with you on Snapchat and realize that you cannot see their stories, snaps, or profile.
The only way that the person whom you have blocked you would find that you have blocked him or her is when they open the chats with you and notice that you have not opened any of the chats that they sent you. The Messages will remain undelivered as they are never received by you.
Can you Unblock Someone on Snapchat? How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat?
Yes, it is possible to unblock someone on Snapchat. If you want to do so, simply go to the settings menu and tap on “Blocked”. From there, you will be able to unblock the person by tapping on the “Unblock” button next to their name.
It is also possible to unblock someone from the chat screen. Simply tap on the menu button in the top right-hand corner and then tap on “Block”. From there, you will be able to unblock the person by tapping on the “Unblock” button next to their name.
When you unblock someone, they will not be added back to your friends list automatically. You will need to send them a friend request if you want them to be your friend again.
Can You Unsend a Snap After Blocking a Person?
When you send Snaps, your snaps are saved on cloud servers. The snaps are sent to the server as soon as you hit the SEND button. That would mean you have no option to unsend the snaps once they have been sent.
It happens the same way when you need a snap to someone and then block the person. The blocked person will still you receive the snap as if nothing has happened. They will not be able to snapback to you but will be able to check your snaps.
What is the Difference Between Blocking and Removing Someone on Snapchat?
What is the difference between Block and Remove? When you block someone, they will not be able to see your profile or add you back. When you remove someone, they will still be able to see your profile and may be able to add you back.
When you block someone, they will be instantly unfriended. You will need to unblock them and then send them a new friend request. REMOVE a friend is a simple option for unfriending someone on Snapchat. Your contact will be removed from your account. You will be able to add them to your friends’ list by searching for them.
How to Block Someone on Snapchat?
Blocking someone on Snapchat is very easy. All you need to do is go to the settings menu and tap on “Blocked”. From there, you will be able to block the person by tapping on the “Block” button next to their name.
It is also possible to block someone from the chat screen. Simply tap on the menu button in the top right-hand corner and then tap on “Block”. From there, you will be able to block the person by tapping on the “Block” button next to their name.
Once you have blocked someone, they will be instantly removed from your friends’ list. All the interactions you had with them will be brought back to zero. They will also be instantly removed from your Snapchat story.
The option to block someone is extremely simple and easy. You can right away block them from the chats page or from your contacts list.
One of the best options that we would recommend would be to report someone instead of blocking them if you find them harassing or spamming you. Even when the Snapchat platform has been designed to provide you ultimate comfort in terms of fun, there are a few people who would find it quite ill-mannered. Reporting such people can help the platform deactivate their accounts if they are found to be ill-mannered.
Reporting the user who is harassing you can be pretty easy. You would find the option to report the person from your contact list or even from your chat screen.
Any Alternatives to Blocking someone on Snapchat?
In addition to blocking someone, you can opt for a few other options that would be equally practical and useful.
Here are a few of the options that can be helpful in this context:
Silence someone’s Messages
The best choice is to silence the person if you think you are not comfortable with the interaction. The method was earlier known as the Do Not Disturb option. You can simply go to the person’s profile and check their Message Notifications. You can check the option for Silent.
Muting someone is yet another excellent option if you feel you do not want to get disturbed by the messages from someone. However, you would continue to see other activities from the app. You will find the details when they post a story or share any other content.
Change Privacy Options to My Friends
If you do not want anyone else except your friends to see your content on Snapchat, it is always advisable to configure your privacy settings to My Friends. Go to your profile settings and then the Who Can section. You can find the Contact Me section and change it to My Friends.
Now that we have answered the question – of what happens when you block someone on Snapchat let’s take a look at some of the other questions that people often ask about blocking on Snapchat.
The Closing Thoughts
Blocking someone on Snapchat is quite a simple and easy task, but have you ever given a thought to understanding what happens when you block someone on Snapchat? The details here should help you understand what you can expect when you block someone on Snapchat. Blocking and even removing someone from your Snapchat profile can prove to be quite a great option in the long run.
Short URL: https://ttw.tips/3m0HFTW