Instagram is a popular platform to share views and images and stay connected with loved ones; Instagram gets engrossed with more handy features. Competing with other social media platforms has brought out many interesting features like reels. Despite various edges, some features may seem unhealthy. One best instance is the feature to block in it. Sometimes, lack of messages and interaction makes users feel that a loved one or friend has blocked them on Instagram, and thus ask queries like how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram. If you are looking for the answer for the same, look no further. We will edify you how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram, along with valuable insights.
What Is The Restricted Feature In Instagram?
With similar features getting popular in other social media platforms, Instagram introduced a “Restrict” feature in 2019. Also known as an anti-bullying quality, it was brought out to ensure a safer platform experience. Some major benefits of these features make it handy for those who employ them. However, it may be painful to the person on whom it is applied.
It is crucial to note that Instagram does not share any notification if anyone restricts you in it. People ask how do I know if someone blocked me on Instagram. Unfortunately, there is no official way to determine if anyone restricts you. However, there are some methods using which you can understand that the person has restricted you. Let us check them in the coming lines.
How to know if someone blocked You on Instagram?
While users ask how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram, evidently, there is no official way to confirm. However, there are some tips that can be applied to see and infer if you are being restricted. All of these can be working for you. Try implementing more than one of these tips to ensure your answer.
With the advent of status features, we are able to express our feelings to close ones better than posts clearly. And therefore, the doubt of restriction seldom starts here. The inception of the doubt of how do you know if someone blocked you on IG may start when you are not able to see a person’s status. While there can be multiple reasons behind this, being restricted can be crucial among them.
When a person restricts you on Instagram, your comments on their posts are not visible to anyone else. Since you cannot check the same from your account, you may need to create a new account or lend another device to check the same. Here is what you can do to check the comments by creating a new account:
Step 1: Comment on a post of the person whom you suspect has restricted you.
Step 2: Log out of the Instagram app of your device.
Step 3: Now in the Welcome screen, select Create a new account.
Step 4: Enter the new name, email id, and other credentials to create a new account.
Step 5: Once the account is created, search for the account that you feel has restricted you.
Step 6: Find their profile in the list that appears and tap on it
Step 7: Follow them if they have a private account
Step 8: Scroll down the list of posts to the one you have previously commented from the old account
Step 9: Check if you can see the comment through your new account. If you couldn’t find it, you are probably restricted.
To strengthen the perception, you may also cross-check your donut by checking their activity and messages too. Let us ponder them in the coming lines.
When you are restricted in Instagram, you cannot check if the person is online or not. To ensure the same, you may use your new account to ensure the same. Here’s what you can do to check the activity status:
Step 1: Log in to your old account and check if you can see whether the person is online/offline. If you can’t, then log out of the old account from your device.
Step 2: Log in to your new Instagram account Instagram, which you have just created.
Step 3: Search for the person by typing their username in the search bar.
Step 4: If you are able to see the online/offline status, probably you are restricted by your old account.
While you can already infer that you are restricted by now, try cross-checking the same with a trail in a direct message. Here’s what you can do:
Step 1: Log in to your old Instagram account on your device
Step 2; Search for the users whom you suspect have restricted you
Step 3: Tap on Send Message option
Step 4: Send any random message to them, say ‘Hi’
Step 5: See if you get a reply. If you are restricted, you are not going to get a replay ever. Since they won’t receive your message.
Some Frequently Asked Questions
Is getting restricted and getting blocked the same?
‘Restrict’ sounds liberally compared to ‘Blocked’. This is the reason why some users perceive restriction to be just a restriction of some features and not blocking completely. However, we need to comprehend that getting blocked features is introduced by Instagram in the name of “Restrict”. Thus, getting restricted evidently means getting blocked on Instagram.
Who can restrict you on Instagram?
Anyone having an Instagram account can restrict or unrestrict you by their choice. This can be your family members, close friends, or anyone on the platform. They can also un-restrict you at any time.
What is Bullying on Instagram?
Anything that can harass a user can be considered bullying. It can be harsh comments, messages or aggressive tagging. To create a self-protective aura, Instagram came with a restricted option to shield users from bullying, if any. Now users can restrict those people who bully them into having a better IG experience.
Here you go! You now contemplated the answer of how to know if someone restricted you on Instagram. Fortunately, we have a handful of hacks to infer if your perception is true. If you feel that you are restricted without a valid reason and didn’t get any valid response from the community team, you can contact Support by visiting their guidelines page. I hope that I have provided relevant insights that we promised at the inception of this post. Happy Instagramming!