HomeTips & Tricks

Undo Your Mail in Gmail!

I would recommend you not to hit the “Send” button in Gmail until you’re exactly sure that you need to send that email. What will do, if you accidentally sent a secret matter to a stranger? Do you always send emails in Gmail with embarrassing typos? Are you forgetting to include the essential attachment at all the times and sending the second email in Gmail?

Do you think that the “Resend” the mail is only option? If you think so and send multiple emails to your contacts, it would let them think that you’re a careless person. What will happen if you do the same to your Boss? It will be awkward, isn’t it?

You don’t need to get worry for any of the above frustrating activities!

Yes, there is a nice feature in Gmail named “Undo Send” by which you can cancel the sent mail and I like it very much. Not only me, I hope that you all will like this helpful feature of Gmail. Let me tell you how to enable this hidden Gmail feature, Undo Send through this post.

Enable “Undo Send” in Gmail to Delete the Sent Mail

To activate the “Undo Send” Gmail feature, go to the

  1. Upper right corner of Gmail and click the Gear Icon.
  1. Select “Settings”

TTW2

  1. Now, it will take you to another page where you can see many tabs.
  2. Click the tab “Labs
  3. Search the option “Undo Send” and choose “Enable” as shown in the image.

TTW

  1. Now, scroll down the page and hit “Save Changes”.

You’ve enabled the option “Undo Send” in Gmail to delete the unwanted sent mail (if any). As you’ve allowed this feature, you’ll be getting the “Undo” button after sending the every mail in Gmail. You may hit that option to stop your email before reaching the receiver’s Inbox.

Check the below image!

ttw3

Note: Gmail gives you the option to choose the cancellation period 5, 20 or 30 seconds (default cancellation time – 10 seconds). So, you should quickly click the “undo” button to terminate the sending of the email (if you want).

Final Words

“Undo Send” is the finest feature in Gmail to cancel the Email sending. It works with all email programs and thus you don’t need to get worried if your receiver’s mail is other than Gmail.

So, if you’re accidently sending the wrong or needless email to your contacts, now you’ve up to 30 seconds to stop sending the outgoing email. I feel that this handy feature should be included in every email service.

What is your opinion? Do you assume that this is a useful feature in Gmail? Have you already enabled “Undo Send” of Gmail? Do you usually send incorrect emails to your contacts? Share your thoughts and experience in the comment section. 

Comments (6)

  • >how can gmail get access to the receivers inbox to delete the sent mail?

    Reply
  • >yah actually…….how can gmail get access to other accounts…..it might be possible for gmail to get access to all its accounts holders inbox…..but what if you send the mail to yahoo or hotmail or any other mailing service?

    Reply
  • >after enabling the feature how do we use it? from where should i undo my sent mail?

    Reply
  • >@anonymous
    after enabling this feature you don't have to do anything . Now whenever you send any mail then you can see the option "undo" there as i mentioned in post (see the first image in this post)

    Reply
  • >@chintan
    i don't know the proper mechanism how gmail control the sent mail but i think gmail holds the mail for 20 or 30 seconds at its own server, then send to the other mail services like yahoo, rediff and all. So that, within this period gmail can undo the mail.
    i am not sure about this.

    Reply
  • Thanks Atish for this useful post. Actually speaking this is not an UNDO, this is postpone your email for a few seconds as you can choose between 5, 10, 20 and 30 second from the settings.
    Mohammed Ali recently posted…Simple steps to get your free CIBIL Credit Report onlineMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge