HomeTips & Tricks

The Dangerous ASSOC command

Tonight, accidentally I have executed the command assoc.exe=file and this command has changed the all .exe extension to none. So that any program like notepad, word, explorer(all the .exe) etc had been stopped working. I was scared and thought that I have to format my windows but at the same time I got an idea and I tried assoc.exe=txtfile Command.

dangerous-min

After executing this I have tried to open programs, this time they were opening but all are opening as .txt file(notepad ).
Here I have got the exact idea to retain my default setting and then i executed the commnad assoc.exe=exefile
finally, Now I am able to open all the programs as they were opening by default.

Now we can change any extension to anyone but to retain we have to do as:

syntax:

assoc.extension=extensionfile
exmple:
assoc.txt=txtfile
assoc.exe=exefile
assoc.reg=regfile

EXPLANATION

simple explanation, assoc.exe=file command changes the all .exe extension files to no extension so that no one was opening.
then assoc.exe=exefile command changes all the .exe extension files to .exe extension so that they were opening again.

Note: changing extension doesn’t mean that they lose .exe extension. Here it means they open with attribute has changed to no file (if we do assoc.exe=file) or as txt file(if we do assoc.exe=txt). and when we do assoc.exe=exefile then it’s open with attribute again changes to .exe .

Comments (6)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

All the data shown above will be stored by Techtricksworld.com on https://www.techtricksworld.com. At any point of time, you can contact us and select the data you wish to anonymise or delete so it cannot be linked to your email address any longer. When your data is anonymised or deleted, you will receive an email confirmation. We also use cookies and/or similar technologies to analyse customer behaviour, administer the website, track users' movements, and to collect information about users. This is done in order to personalise and enhance your experience with us.

CommentLuv badge